top of page
  • Writer's pictureGlow

D.I.Y. Creative Motivation


You guys remember my unfinished wine bottle craft?

Well....it's still sitting on my kitchen counter awaiting for the day that I make it to the craft store to finish the last little bit needed to make it a wonderful and cheap decoration for my home.

In the meantime I kept scrolling on Pinterest and I love the look of scrap wood headboards. It's rustic and simple and wholesome in my opinion. (I'm also a big fan of Joanna Gains' and I'm very much a farmhouse style lover.)

Long story short my husband had a few days that he needed to use or lose of vacation time at his job. So I rope him into a going to Lowe's to purchase for under $200 the supplies needed to start on this scrap wood creation. Of course they don't exactly sell "scrap wood" at home improvement stores, and we didn't just have any hanging around the house so we opted to purchasing shiplap (thanks Joanna).

This is a picture of me working on staining all the shiplap that we cut into random sized pieces in my unfinished basement. (Which is a whole different work in progress that shall be discussed later in time.)


I'm going to continue to work on this project and document it.


I'm doing this for a reason.


I think sometimes people assume that having goals and dreams means that you don't have to take breaks or there won't be delays. But that's not real life. Real life is following your passion but doing so in a way that you aren't so laser focused that everything not your goal is neglected. We all know those people. They work 14 hour days and can never turn "off" for a moment. Or the complete opposite, people who live off the charity and hard work of others i.e. the 30 year old adult children still living at home with their parents.


Life can have purpose and your should strive to reach goals and achieve success. One of my goals is to really pursue my creative side more. So will there be some unfinished projects?....Yep. Will a try a few new things and realize it's not for me? You betcha. Will I fall apart when I can't duplicate a Pinterest worthy project? NOPE! I'm headed for exciting things by just moving forward in pursuing my passion. Each success is a motivation and each failure is a learning opportunity. Will you join me in this fun ride?

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page